Understand the Möbius Student Data Retention Policy
Jump to section
DigitalEd is committed to providing the highest quality of data security and reliability for customers.
Your institution may have strict data retention policies which describe what data will be archived, how long it will be kept, and what happens to the data at the end of that period.
This may include the secure deletion of old user records.
Starting with the Möbius 2022.4 release, DigitalEd can set up your Möbius site to securely and automatically delete inactive student accounts and test records using the Möbius Student Data Retention Policy.
IMPORTANT:This is an opt-in Möbius feature, intended only for use in conjunction with your institution's data retention policy.
TIP: Is your Möbius site on the most recent release? Check out the View system status help topic to see how to check the build date and version of your Möbius site.
If you choose to enable the Möbius Student Data Retention Policy for your Möbius site, you must specify the retention time of data; the minimum possible retention time is one year.
Inactive student accounts and test records will be securely deleted after the retention time has passed:
Student accounts — Deleted after the retention time has passed since the last login date for the account in Möbius.
Test records — Deleted after the retention time has passed since the test record was created, or since the start date of the Möbius activity attempt.
IMPORTANT: Once the specified time period has elapsed, the data will be deleted, and can't be recovered once deleted. There are no exceptions.
NOTE: Are you a Möbius administrator looking to opt-in to or update the Möbius Student Data Retention Policy for your Möbius site? Contact your DigitalEd account executive or official DigitalEd Partner.